Abide: Why I am becoming a Dudeist Priest

by Elisha.K

This is kind of funny, since my last post is about being free from religion. I have to say that I signed up to be a Dudeist Priest as a little ha-ha to myself. It kind of laughs in the face of religion because it’s not really. It’s a fan group, in all honesty, of the Big Lebowski. But, today, I received my official certification and letter of good standing and I realized…I could honestly do something good with this. It allows me to preside over ceremonies like marriages and funerals and the like, and I realized that I could offer something that maybe another ordained minister could not : a ceremony about the people there.

I started to envision myself at a marriage ceremony mostly. I imagined the couple that would want me to guide them through it all. They’d probably have their own vows, but I could say something wonderful…something completely secular and beautiful. I could talk about their love for one another, how they will improve their little sphere of the world. How they should remember not to sweat the small stuff and I could help them keep God out of their happy day, but still offer a bit of traditionalism to it.

So it started as a joke, but I can see myself doing something pretty cool with it. A little cash on the side helping people celebrate their happy day isn’t too bad either.

Dudeism is sort of like Buddhism. It can be a religion….but it can also just be a way of life. Yes, it’s inspired by a movie about a pot smoking bowler getting into shenanigans, but it has a bit of heart to it. And if I don’t have to make a pledge to God to have a fun certification, I’m all for it. I don’t believe I’m giving in to religion or anything, I’m just trying to do something cool that I think might be fun.

 

“The idea is this: Life is short and complicated and nobody knows what to do about it. So don’t do anything about it. Just take it easy, man. Stop worrying so much whether you’ll make it into the finals. Kick back with some friends and some oat soda and whether you roll strikes or gutters, do your best to be true to yourself and others – that is to say, abide.”

http://dudeism.com/

